Trusted Contributor

I've been using Xiidra eye drops for approximately 4 months. They do sting and cause blurry vision for several minutes after putting them in -- the funny taste isn't as bad as it was or I've just gotten used to it and don't notice it. They have made a huge difference for my eyes. Before using prescription drops I had been using otc eye drops but was putting them in every two hours and they weren't helping much. My eyes get so dry at night that they stick to my eyelids and it's very painful if they're stuck when I try to open them. The Xiidra has helped so much. Thankfully my dr gave me a co-pay card and my insurance covers them because there's no way I could afford to use them otherwise. 

Respected Contributor

Re: Xiidra eye drops

[ Edited ]

For those with dry eye, also think about personal and environmental thing you can do to help your eyes feel better.

Things that make dry eyes worse:

1.  Low humidity - think Arizona vs Houston

2.  Certain Medications- such as antihistamines

3.  Dehydration--Drink more water and less caffine

4.  Prolonged near tasks results in decreased blink rate- so blink and take breaks when you are using a device, sewing, reading

5.  Evaporation of tears--AC blowing on your face, windy, ceiling fans.

6.  Contact lens wear

7.  Consider Omega 3 supplements unless contraindicated.

8.  Keep lash line and eye lids clear-consider commercial lid scrubs.

9.  Prescription and non prescription meds

10.  Age- Can't do anything about this so try 1-9.

Esteemed Contributor

[ Edited ]

@gidgetghthanks for the review   when  I used  Restasis  about 5 years ago the pharmacist said she'd never put it in her eyes.  I used it a little while after that then I threw it away

After I had Lasik 17 years ago  they did eye plugs and Restasis for dryness.  The pharmacist back then did not voice an opinion.