Esteemed Contributor

Re: 'You should not have to expect a violent encounter on your way to work in the morning'

@golding76 

Heard on the news that Starbucks  closed their location in Union station because they could not ensure safety of their staff .

Honored Contributor

Re: 'You should not have to expect a violent encounter on your way to work in the morning'

@skatting44 

I've worked as a psychiatric nurse for just under a decade now.  Your post is spot-on.

Thank you.Heart

~My philosophy: Dogs are God's most perfect creatures. Angels, here on Earth, who teach us to be better human beings.~
Esteemed Contributor

@just bee 

Thanks, I am a nurse to , although  only worked briefly on a mental health unit and Detox unit.

I spent my career working with  Veterans  in an ICU setting .

Honored Contributor

@skatting44 ...........I didnt remember that it started in the 60's.  I realize that some of those with mental illness do not want to be institutionalized.  But something has to be done.  I am sure criminals do not want to go to prison either but society needs protection.  Its the best solution we have at the present time until someone comes up with a better plan.  

Thanks for the reply.

BE THE PERSON YOUR DOG THINKS YOU ARE! (unknown)
Honored Contributor

@skatting44 wrote:

@just bee 

Thanks, I am a nurse to , although  only worked briefly on a mental health unit and Detox unit.

I spent my career working with  Veterans  in an ICU setting .

@skatting44 

I tend to believe that every unit is a psychiatric unit.  Your experience in behavioral health and detox is definitely an asset.

~My philosophy: Dogs are God's most perfect creatures. Angels, here on Earth, who teach us to be better human beings.~
Respected Contributor