Honored Contributor

I guess it's my own fault I should lower my expectations. July was my birthday month so I wanted to get my "free gift". I really didn't need anything but there was something I wanted. I placed an order and got the Tarte set, exclusive colors Amazonian Clay Blush in Paaarty and Matte Lip Paint in Birthday Suit. These colors run warm and not suitable for me at all. I tried the blush, I have never used this brand before, and found it to be very powdery. I tossed both in the trash. Also I don't get why Sephora has you pick 3 samples, I usually never get them. I didn't get any of the 3, I got 2 useless ones. I also got the Ulta gift which wasn't bad (NYX eyeshadow palette), the shades were warm, not my colors, I gave it to my sister. I'm done with the "free gifts".

Honored Contributor

@Jordan2  I hate to admit how many stupid buying mistakes I've made over the years just because I had a coupon and/or something was on sale.

Retailers know we do this -  and they know we do it over and over.  It's built into all the selling gimmicks I can think of whether we're talking everyday items like at Bed, Bath or major jewelry say at Saks. 

I'm still trying to shop by advice I read some months ago.  It has pulled me away from shopping sales gimmicks, sales, and coupons UNLESS I ALREADY NEED OR REALLY WANT an item. ALREADY seems to be the key word because I don't let the gimmick tempt me. I'm still spending,but I'm not regretting mistakes right now and that feels so good.

Respected Contributor

I dont purchase from Sephora as much as I once did. The points are a joke-everything is sold out or 20000 points, and I still have real difficulty navigating the 'improved' website.

Honored Contributor

@millieshops wrote:

@Jordan2  I hate to admit how many stupid buying mistakes I've made over the years just because I had a coupon and/or something was on sale.