Honored Contributor

Share Some Odd or Obscure Cookbooks You Have

I am going through cookbooks and getting rid of some. Again.  I have a number I got at library book sales, or was gifted and I haven't really looked at them.  I'm finding some winners tucked away--which is NOT helping the purging!

One is: Cooking With Regis and Kathie Lee, from 1993 and it has lots of good looking recipes from chefs that were on the show. It is absolutely. chock full of great looking and not too complicated recipes!

How about you?  Any weird cookbooks you love?

Respected Contributor

Re: Share Some Odd or Obscure Cookbooks You Have

I have a cookbook called "Cooking With The Young & The Restless".   It has recipes from the various stars of that soap opera.  It was published in 1997.  

Another cookbook I have is called "The Absolute Beginner's Cookbook".  It sounds so silly for someone who's been cooking for years but it's filled with the best simple recipes that are so easy to make.  You don't need any fancy ingredients and it's loaded with great ideas.

I also have another very old Amish Cookbook.  I really don't make any of the recipes but the book is great just to browse through.

Super Contributor

[ Edited ]

If anyone remembers the Nancy Drew mystery books from 50+ years ago, there's the official Nancy Drew cookbook that contains recipes of food mentioned throughout all the books.  It's really neat.

Esteemed Contributor

I had a beautiful cookbook that had a chapter each on 1930s, 40s, 50s and 60s.  Each chapter had typical meals from the era, pictures and recipes.  I eventually passed it on to my son, the professional chef.

Valued Contributor

I have been searching for one of Dinah Shore's  cookbooks.  I recall that my late Mother and I had one many years ago. Does anyone here have one in their collection?

Respected Contributor