Honored Contributor

@CelticCrafter  My DH's solution to the problem of boredom was to find a volunteer job he was passionate about. For us it was working at our church's food bank. He goes to the grocery stores and collects donated food  and brings it to the food bank plus he goes around to some restaurants and stores where he has built a relationship with the owners and collects empty boxes for the food to be packed into at the food bank. They keep him busy with the box collection so that is a good thing. He brings them home, cuts off the tops and reinforces them then delivers to the food bank.

Occasional Contributor

151949, thanks for the info - i will have to check into that. Did you say you snowbird or maybe that was someone else, i am new to this Smiley Happy

Honored Contributor

Yes, we snowbird between Florida and SW Pa. However, not wanting the expense or the worry about having 2 homes we choose to have a camper in Pa instead of a house or apartment. We started out with a fifth wheel camper we already had but found it to be too cramped for full time living and so we bought a new park model camper a few years ago. We keep it on a site at a campground. Much less expensive than owning a house, perfectly comfortable to live in for a couple months and when we leave we pay to have it winterized because for $50 they guarantee their work. If we come back and find a ruptured pipe or anything it is on them to repair it and any damage.  Much less worry than having a house , needing to have someone shoveling snow etc so the house doesn't look abandoned all winter, worry about the furnace etc. We just close the door and drive away. The campground owners live across the street from our site so they have eyes on our camper all winter long. Basically, we have found this to be a very nice way to snowbird. Not to even mention all the really nice people we meet here at the campground.

Honored Contributor

@CelticCrafter wrote:

@151949 wrote: