Valued Contributor

Re: Curious About Rural Living

@Mominohio wrote:

Let me try to give you some perspective that others have and some new ideas.

I was raised in a city of about 50,000 people. Not too big, not too small. The houses in our historic neighborhood were very close together with very small yards, but a nice mix of older and families, and pretty quiet for being off a main road in town.

I moved to a much bigger city (Columbus Ohio) for a year while in college. I hated it. I hate being in and living in big cities. I hate the noise, I hate the traffic, I hate the drive time to get from one side of town to another. 

So when I graduated, I moved back to my hometown, and bought a house just a few streets away from where I grew up. Loved it...until the church next door (which was small, older congregation with only Sunday morning services, quiet and calm the rest of the week) decided to rent to a daycare facility that brought in 60 kids per day to run and scream from 6am to 6pm. Motivated us to find a rural property.

First, there is true 'country' living, then there is just out of town with a few acres. 

Many people from cities and towns move out on a few acres, surrounded by other properties of just a few acres, and think they will have privacy and quiet. You often don't. There can still be a lot of traffic, and it is shocking how far you can hear things in a more open setting. The sounds travel miles when there aren't buildings and other sounds to block them. That can include many of the things that bother you right next door (voices, music, loud cars etc.). 

Real 'out in the country' life can be very isolated (think  dirt road with no other houses for miles) with a lot more privacy and quiet, but still the need to monitor your surroundings as people seek to get out and treat your property like it is a public park.