Honored Contributor

Re: How often do you run your sprinklers?

[ Edited ]

We have only watered twice. We have had 11" rain so far in July.

We have had unusual weather with all this rain & now we have some 60°'s for lows in July? It's normally really hot with hardly any rain.

Lawns are suppose to get 1 - 1 1/2" water per week.

Esteemed Contributor

[ Edited ]

@Snoopp wrote:

@Still Raining wrote:

You can install sensors for ground moisture which take the guesswork out of it.  They manage the timing.

@Still Raining  is that hard to do?  Do I need the service to do that or is it a DIY project?  I'm not too good with DIY things.

Depends your comfort level.

It has to be in the ground and talk to your controller, which has to accept the instructions.  You have to understand your zones.  If you do not already have zones, it will be a pipe problem too.  It can be shut down by zone too.

If you know your pipe layout and can switch out a controller as needed, you will be fine.

ETA:  think about it....men can do it

Trusted Contributor

I live in Dallas TX. Have a sprinkler system with sensor/controller that will bypass the programmed cycles for freezing temperatures or moisture levels. Right now the sprinklers are set for two cycles, two hours apart on Mon/Fri. I have a drip system around the foundation and through the flower beds that runs three times per week. Today it's raining so my sprinkler system will go on bypass status and not run until it determines that everything has dried out enough.

Honored Contributor

It's been hot and dry here in PA but I don't water the lawn at all.   It's turning yellow but no worries - it's going dormant and will return to green when rains return.  

IMO and the opinion of conservationists, it's silly, not to mention wasteful, to water lawns.  

Esteemed Contributor