Honored Contributor

I totally will understand if some of you bypass this. I have been here before seeking advice about purchasing a new computer. I have been talk, talk, talking, about this for so long I'm sick of it you must be too! I was looking at the new MacBook Pro 13" with the protection plan and accessories, plus tax ballpark $2,564. I looked at the HP Spectre (not the 2in1) 13" (I wanted a 15" but didn't see one) with everything $2,238.00. I was wondering if one could use an iPad Pro as their primary computer? The 12.9" with wifi and cellular, protection plan, and keyboard would run $1,517.00. I don't buy a computer often so I am ready to spend the big bucks! I have considered a Chrome Book, but fear the 32 GB of storage is not enough (I know there is a limited amount of cloud storage for free but you must pay after 2 years I think). So as you can see I'm not sure what I want. I do own an iPad Air and several Kindles. Oh yeah you should know I'm not tech savvy at all! Any advice would certainly be appreciated.

Esteemed Contributor

Re: What Do You Think

[ Edited ]

@Jordan2, here's my two cents.  I needed a new computer.  After all the windows 10 issues we have read about here and, considering the fact that everything else I own is Apple, I decided to buy a MacBook Pro.

Your price suggests to me that you are looking at the brand new MacBook Pro, the one with the new touch bar.  After assessing my needs and recognizing that the new touch bar is around $1000 more than the 2016 MacBook Pro, I went with the next to newest model (2016).

The MacBook Pro you are talking about does not have HDMI connection, USB, SD or headphones.  You have to buy a dongle to make these connections of devices to your computer.  The newest MBP with the touch bar has only thunderports.  In my reading of the attributes and reviews of the new MBP with touchbar, it was way more computer than I needed for what I want to do.

You could also buy a MacBook Air.