Respected Contributor

I get a message saying I need to free up space but I don't know how!  Can someone help?  My Miscellaneous is almost filled but what happens if I clear the "android" choice which is taking 35.37 MB.  I am NOT tech savvy!!

Esteemed Contributor

Re: Tracfone question

[ Edited ]

No idea what "Android" choice means.
You can always help us help you better if you provide your phone's make & model with your questions.

Somewhere in your phone's settings you'll find "Storage".
Tap that to see "Used Space".
Tap Used Space to see usage broken down into categories of applications, pictures and videos, audio, downloads.

You may have applications you don't need, or videos, entire text conversations you could delete, etc.
Go thru your phone and just delete things you don't need to keep in there.

You can delete any app that you downloaded from the Play Store. But please be careful about deleting apps that were already installed when your phone arrived. Some are safe to delete but many are not and it's always better to ask first.

There are apps that I use so infrequently that I just download them when I need them and then delete themagain, I don't store them in the phone.

There are apps that can compress your videos to about half the space. After I compress a video I delete the original.

Please make sure your WiFi and data are not on unless you're using them. Also adjust your settings so that apps in your phone do not update automatically. If you allow your WiFi or data to be on and apps to update automatically they will constantly update and eat up more and more space in your phone.

Honored Contributor

35.57mb is not that much if you have 8GB total

Apps take up most of my memory, did you look at all your Apps?

@bargainsgirl wrote: