Respected Contributor

Is this devise (not the HDX) as easy to read from as the Kindle Paperwhite??? Is there some, or no glare on the screen when reading outdoors. Is this item better than the Paperwhite and why? I just bought the Papewhite and want some comparison. I'm just getting into this new technology and have many questions.

TIA.

Esteemed Contributor

I have a Paperwhite and other Android tablets . I brought the Paperwhite to read in direct sunlight, and to carry around. It is light weight. I do enjoy reading on my other tablets, because you can customize the color of the text etc. My other tablets and cell phone suffers from glare in sunlight.

Respected Contributor

The Paperwhite is the best device for reading in all conditions. The HD is not good in sunlight at all. Also, some people have trouble reading for long periods on the HD as it has different lighting than the Paperwhite.

Occasional Contributor

I have both the paperwhite and the kindle fire hd.

Once I got the fire I started reading from it and left my paperwhite in my handbag for errands and such. Then I had surgery on my rotator cuff and had to rely on one arm. I went back to the paperwhite because I could hold it with one hand AND flip the pages with the thumb of the same hand. Now that I have healed somewhat I have not gone back to reading on the fire because I like the paperwhite. I use it floating in the pool, no glare, in a protective cover.

I use my fire for everything but reading. The paperwhite doesn't strain my eyes and is easier to use for reading.

Respectfully,

AmHistoryNut

Regular Contributor