Honored Contributor

I am new to the Iphone.  I'll try to make this easy to understand....

I have a MacBook air that I use gmail for business, all my business contacts are on the MacBook air as well as personal contacts.

When I paired my Iphone all the gmail contacts were added to the phone.  I do not want any of my business contacts on the phone.  I am using the phone for texting and or emailing with a few friends/family and surfing the net and anything else NOT related to my business.

Can I pick and choose what contacts I want on the phone and what I want on the MacBook?

I have looked under settings but do see a solution.

thanks.

Esteemed Contributor

Re: I Phone question

[ Edited ]

@Mom2Dogs  I have my IPad synced with my IPhone. I can't choose which contacts I want for each device. It's all or nothing for both.

Because my 2 devices are linked I also can send & receive texts from my IPad even though I don't have a data plan on it.The same is true for phone calls.

Honored Contributor

@NicksmomESQ   That is what I was afraid of.  I have not synced to my car yet...but I guess ALL THOSE contacts in my gmail will also go to the car...ugh.

My old phone was a phone so I did not have this issue.

The texts I am getting are also going to my MacBook air...two of the three people that I group text with have Iphones the other has an androind...it's just odd because some texts are bouced back as underliverable to my MacBook Air.

thanks

Honored Contributor

If your iPhone is new, you are still under warranty.  Call Apple customer service or AppleCare (if you have it).  Take full advantage of Apple's warranty & Apple Care.

Put your question in a search engine.  Make sure you type iPhone instead of phone. 

Select the "topic" "How to delete contacts on iPhone or Mac/AppleInsider."

Search Apple's Knowledgebase, Apple's YouTube Troubleshooting tutorials.