Esteemed Contributor

My neighbor has three girls, ages 7, 14, and 16.  We have a nice relationship with them and the husband has always been very helpful and we give him a large check at Christmas for his help during the year. They are much younger but always include us in their friends and family gatherings.  For years I have bought the girls birthday and Christmas presents.  As they age I am finding it difficult, and expensive, to choose gifts they would like.  With each year I'm tempted to stop this gift giving but not sure if I should or continue.  I've thought about just giving them Christmas gifts and stopping the birthdays.  Thoughts.

Honored Contributor

Re: When to Stop Gifting

[ Edited ]

tough one

have u received thank you notes or acknowlegments from the kids for the gifts?

or the parents

start there

Respected Contributor

@Biftu 

I'm actually studying the stresses and strategies of gift giving (and receiving!).

One lovely TRANSITION (seems needed here rather than abrupt stop) is to stop the birthday gifts (which is now burdensome to you) but give the kids a family gift at Christmas.

Games, crafts, things to make are appreciated by girls (especially popular is bracelet making kits FYI). Fun craft projects the girls can share with others would be something you could do each year (not having to come up with novel ideas for each girl).

simple2.png

Valued Contributor