Honored Contributor

Re: The Quick Brown Fox Jumps Over The Lazy Dog

@PA Mom-mom wrote:

@proudlyfromNJ  I was also in a small private high school, but for some reason, they allowed us to take general ed classes if we had the time, and I'm glad they did! I can't imagine why schools don't teach everyone the basics for navigating adulthood.

@PA Mom-mom  I don't think the schools even thought like that when I was in school. I graduated in 1965.

Esteemed Contributor

@tansy Me too - bought myself a S-C (Manual of course - never heard of electric)..............in BLUE.

Esteemed Contributor

@Scooby Doo Loved Loved the IBM Selectric.    Could make that thing 'sing".

Honored Contributor

@proudlyfromNJ wrote:

For some reason in our small high school, if you were in college prep classes, typing wasn't offered. My parents had one of those old klunkers and I wanted to learn so I taught myself. Used the phrase previously mentioned..Now is the time for all good men to come to the aid of their country.

Typing wasn't offered at my high school.  It was an elective in junior high.  

Esteemed Contributor

I taught business education courses for 4 years. Taught typing every semester. Yes, I remember! When the selectric with limited memory was developed, it was a dream for those frequently typed phrases. It felt so 'modern' to use. I never taught shorthand - that was faded by the time I taught -- but I remember it and still use it for notes. It's like driving a manual transmission -- just one of those things you don't want to forget how to do.     

"I took a walk in the woods and came out taller than the trees." Henry David Thoreau
Honored Contributor

@jellyBEAN wrote:

Funny, I learned typing circa:  1970 or so and I've never heard, let alone have typed:  The Quick Brown Fox Jumps Over The Lazy Dog.

The sentence I was taught, and that I would type over n over was "Now is the time for all good men to come to the aid of their country."