Honored Contributor

Re: Question about ordering food

I checked the options for Outback Steakhouse.  They don't deliver.  Just pick up and they are far.  Yes, the options are directly from the place or through the Door Dash, etc.  I'll look around some more.  I didn't want to use Door Dash as there is a delivery charge (if you don't join)  I'd rather go directly through the restaurant.

Respected Contributor

Try Postmates also.  Outback in my area delivers.  Also try Uber Eats.  As you can tell, I am an expert of ordering delivery for everything.....

Honored Contributor

Just remember if you do place your order through one of the delivery services and it arrives in less than perfect condition, it's not the restaurants fault.

Honored Contributor

Around here (NYC) - the restaurants or diners or fast food all have websites.  I just order (and pre-pay) online give them a pickup or delivery time.  

Most of the time I pick up - every place I order from is in the neighborhood.  They know me.

For delivery - just have to give the guy a tip.  

Regular Contributor

I've been ordering EVERYTHING delivered for a couple of years. Yes, there's a delivery fee. Plus some (most?) of the time the charge for menu itmes is going to be more than if you were eating in the restaurant. A couple of services are discounting fees if you pay a monthly fee. Depends on how much you use that particular service whether it's worthwhile.

Personally, I'm leaning towards UberEats  lately. DoorDash (now delivery.com) got my account messed up and I decided it wasn't worth having to make a 3rd attempt to get it straightened out. My issue with GrubHub is that they have don't keep their database of available restaurants updated and I had one too many orders cancelled. UberEats seems to not only be able only show restaurants that are actually open but even seems to keep individual menu items current. 

Esteemed Contributor