Trusted Contributor

How big is your stash of books???

Have decided to clean up my "stash" of books that are piled up in a bookcase (actually are overflowing onto floor, chair, and boxes). I seem to have been getting my books mostly from the library for the last few years and ignoring those that I own. So in an attempt to downsize, I'm now reading through my own books. They are mostly paperbacks & were picked up from yard sales, book sales at libraries, or given by friends who know my addiction. Since I'm a retired English teacher/librarian, I had them sorted alphabetical by last name. Found out that I didn't like many of the books, and put them in piles to donate back to the library or to give to friends who read. Can't imagine getting through the entire pile in a year, so I won't have to worry that my "stash" gets too small (I'd just go to the used book room at the library & stock back up). So, my question is, do you have your own "stash", and, if so, how big is it? Thanks in advance for any & all kind responses.

Respected Contributor

Re: How big is your stash of books???

Bought a Kindle over 2 years ago so not be bothered with books.  I have a collection of cookbooks that my husband wants but I would get rid of them if not for him.  Recipe books seem like records used to...one or two recipes that are good in the whole book. 

Respected Contributor

I have a large bookcase with books doubled up on the shelves-the paper backs that will fit 2 deep. Then I have a book headboard on my bed full of books with the books that I am reading, or that are next in line, stacked on top. Then I have my "finished" basket to give away or donate to the library. 

Craft books are on shelves on the bottom of the end tables in the living room & on a bookshelf in my "craft room".
Cook book collection in a china cabinet & a large basket on the kitchen counter. :}

Valued Contributor