Valued Contributor

Showering in contact lenses dangerous??

Who knew? I have been wearing soft contacts for over 30 years and shower with them in my eyes all the time. I have always been meticulous about cleaning them and changing them out when recommended. Now I'm hearing (on The Doctors) and reading that showering with them in your eyes is risky because of the possibility of amoebic eye infections that can lead to blindness! Do you take your contact out when you step in the shower??

Trusted Contributor

Re: Showering in contact lenses dangerous??

I've never showered with my contacts in since I always take my shower before I put the contacts in.When I need to shave my legs, I put my glasses on. After I've dried myself, before I put body lotion on, I put my contacts in.

Esteemed Contributor

Interesting! I haven't seen that. Yes, I usually take them out. I have sensitive eyes, plus I was afraid I might lose one.
Super Contributor

I wore contacts (all forms except Boston Lens) from age 10 until age 40 when my eye script could not work in contacts anymore. I also wore them 23/7/30 during my 20s including the shower.

I do not trust any doc on tv except Sanjay Gupta on CNN and then only after I confirm what he says from other sources.

I do trust my eye doctors who prescribed my contacts and only my eye doctor!

If this concerns you, you should really call the doctor who wrote the prescription for your contacts, not ask people who you know nothing about, on a public forum.

It is Sunday night, please call your doctor on Monday. S/he knows all about you and has a fiduciary relationship with you (Means that s/he has to act in your best interest and is responsible if what they tell you, hurts you) and they are the only one you should listen to.

Respected Contributor