Honored Contributor

@jlkz wrote:

@Susan Louise 

Years ago QVC sold a gel-filled extra long pillow for sleeping through night sweats and hot flashes.  The gel absorbed the excess body heat and softened as you slept on top of the pillow.  Then you simply turned the pillow over and slept on that side until softened.  Repeat as needed.

i had two of them and when I no longer needed them, I lent them to friends.

Imagine you might find something similar on medical or camping websites, if not on Amazon.   It really worked !!,

@jlkz  I have been using 2 brands of cooling pillows for about 8+ yrs now...

Beautyrest Cool Fusion

Serta Perfect Sleeper Fresh & Cool

Honored Contributor

@Mary Bailey wrote:

@haddon9 wrote:

I'm 65 and never really had a hot flash...so not everyone gets them.  I did however used to suffer a LOT with very bad PMS and cramps which sometimes were so painful that I had to go home from school.  Occasionally I would also get bad menstrual migraines in my 30s & 40s.

I was either 48 or 49 when I got my last period and for me menopause has been liberating!  

ETA:  I want to mention that I don't take any meds for menopause.

@haddon9    Me too!  I'm 60.  I even went to ER a few because it was so bad.

@Mary Bailey   Oh I understand!  Once I was so sick in the 9th grade I tried to go down to the nurse's office in school but it felt like it was a mile away which seemed insurmountable....so I went into the first girl's room on the way and spent two hours in there before I could make my way down to the nurse who promptly called my mother to bring me home. 

Fortunately I didn't have endometriosis and finally outgrew it (BC pills helped in my 20s).  However when I took them after having children they gave me migraines. 

Now I am soooooooooooo happy to feel free from all of that!  I hope you're much better too! Smiley Happy

Honored Contributor

@Mary Bailey wrote:

@haddon9 wrote: