Contributor

My theory on Philosophy scent staying power & why it probably won't change

I started using Living Grace products about three years ago, probably after the change in the staying power of scents noted by many of you, so I have no experience with the longevity of "old" products, but reading so many critical reviews and forum posts about the "new" scents caused me to do some research.  There are several families of chemicals, namely parabens and phthalates, which give staying power to scents on the skin as well as increased shelf life to products.  These are preservatives and not necessarily listed as part of the fragrance formula of the product.  Research has connected these preservatives to health hazards such as hormone disruption, birth defects, allergic reactions and even possible links to cancer.  They are considered toxic and many companies are reformulating products to avoid them.  Here's a direct cut-and-paste from the Philosophy website: 

"does philosophy plan on creating a paraben-free line?
we have been proactively formulating our products without butyl parabens for several years. only a handful of our original products still contain paraben-based preservatives. we are actively seeking non-paraben, effective alternatives for these products."  So it appears to me that Philosophy is not being cheap, but responsible, in changing the preservatives they use.  Apparently the old formulas were loaded with potentially dangerous chemicals.  If so, they will never go back to the old formulas and that would seem to be a very good thing.   By the way, I love Living Grace, wear the EDP layered with the souffle cream and can smell it all day.

Honored Contributor

Re: My theory on Philosophy scent staying power & why it probably won't change

Perfumes and scents have been created and sold for hundreds - well, thousands - of years. They had staying power (likely often better than in "modern" scents) without these particular chemical preservatives.