Honored Contributor

@db

Like you, I have had many Ultrasounds. From my perspective as the patient, I know many of them knew if I had issues. They tell me a lot without speaking a word.

hckynut(john)

hckynut(john)
Valued Contributor

Funny story, years ago I was having an abdominal ultrasound for generalized abdominal discomfort..I thought I surely had gallbladder stones/ disease..had all the symptoms..I told her I was a nurse & asked if she saw anything abnormal..she then whispered in my ear.. "You have no gallstones" 😊  A few days later, still feeling very icky, during a CT of abdomen, I was told by the radiologist..go to the ER, NOW, it was a ruptured appendix..

darndest appendicitis I ever heard of...

Frequent Contributor

A few months ago I had a sonogram to see if I had cysts, while the tech was doing her job all of the sudden she started get very religious on me. She scared me to death I thought the worst thank god I didn't have any cyst but I kept playing our convo in my head all weekend. Well it was definitely the longest weekend of my life....

Esteemed Contributor

Usually they don't say a word which for me is ok.  I had one tech that made an off-hand remark during the procedure.  It upset me very, very, very much and she apologized profusely.

Respected Contributor

@Tinkrbl44 wrote:

@db wrote:

I have a question that an ultrasound technician could answer.  I know they are not doctors but when they are doing an ultrasound how trained are they to see an actual problem?  I have had numerous ultrasounds over the years on pretty much all body parts and a majority of them seem to be able to identify problems.  I know that they cannot tell you anything but I think they all know an issue when they see it.  Any comments or experience?  Thank you.

@db