Honored Contributor

I was wondering if anyone here uses it and if so what do you think of it? There's a free 7 day trial and its then $60 for a year. Only $5 a month which is very reasonable. I believe you can also cancel it at any time. It's supposed to help with meditation, stress, anxiety, sleep, mindfulness.

I'm going to do the trial but I'd like to hear about any experiences.  

"This isn't a Wednesday night, this is New Year's Eve"
Respected Contributor

Re: The Calm App

[ Edited ]

I've been using the Calm app for about 2 years now and I absolutely love it.

You don't even need the trial to use some of it, so try it before you sign up for the trial. 

Calm features:

• Calming 'white noise' sounds and visuals - rain, ocean waves, a lake, a fireplace, music, etc.)
  • Meditations grouped by theme (Calm, Focus, Anxiety, Sleep, Mindfulness, etc)
  • Sleep Stories - bedtime stories for adults and kids, some read by famous people. I LOVE them.
  • Meditations and Sleep Stories for kids or college students
  • Master Classes - longer meditations and classes on health and mindfulness

I often use the sounds alone to sleep at night. Sometimes I pull Calm on up my work computer and just listen to the sounds of the lake and the birds in my headphones while I work. So relaxing.

The meditations are great. I don't do well with the "imagine you're on a beach" guided meditations and these aren't those. They have a lot of guided meditations and also some without much or any guidance. If you subscribe, there are some meditations where you can choose a time - 5 minutes, 10 minutes for what works best for you. They also have short Emergency meditation that I use in the parking lot before I go into a doctor's office because my white coat syndrome always spikes my blood pressure before an appointment.