Respected Contributor

Re: Shunt to Relieve Water on the Brain

[ Edited ]

@lovesallanimals - I have no experience in this area to offer you any advice, but I wish you the best in helping your husband make the decision that is optimal for him, whatever it might be.  It is so important that you are doing as much reading as you can on the issue, so that you, and he, can be best prepared to determine the proper course. 

In the end, it is your husband's decision, of course.  I pray that he makes the decision that will help him achieve the best possible state of health for the remainder of his life. Surgical decisions are not to be taken lightly, but sometimes surgery is necessary.

Some questions are: How much fluid is there to remove? Is the fluid continuing to build, and if so, does this water buildup indicate a chronic and dangerous condition? What is the cost of doing nothing-- i.e. will the water ever diminish on its own, or will it continue to accumulate and cause increased health risks in your husband's case? Will the shunt be permanent or only temporary? You and your husband deserve the answers to every single question you have.

All the best to you and to your husband.  

Honored Contributor

My precious adorable grandson had a shunt placed by an excellent neurosurgeon, when he was 2 days old. He has not experienced any problems since the surgery, and functions at age 5 as a typical boy. 

His shunt is evaluated every 6 months.

Another cherished relative in her early 70s, was diagnosed as having "normal pressure hydrocephalus".
She'd previously received poor advice about her general condition, and undergone treatment that many of us who loved her had felt ill advised.

By the time she saw a qualified neurosurgeon she was too depressed and anxious to make a reasoned decision. She refused the surgery, and although she remained cognitively intact, her overall condition ultimately deteriorated until she became a residential care resident.