Occasional Contributor

Re: QUESTION ON CATARACT SURGERY

If your friend have near-sightedness or it affect her daily life ( for eg: in driving), then it's better to remove the cataract. My father who is 60 had done a cataract surgery this month. He was sensitive to light and had blurred vision. So he had consulted a free lasik consultation in Evergreen eye center, an eye clinic in Auburn for laser eye surgery cataract removal. His doctor suggested him to correct his astigmatism before the surgery.  In most of the cases, surgery is not essential, but if your friend have a cataract in her both eyes, then go for surgery. All the best.

Honored Contributor

Thanks Garnet !!

Esteemed Contributor

@ginirn wrote:

I am a nurse and this malarkey about waiting until you can hardly see is no longer relevant.  Any Dr. who makes his patient wait until their quality of life is severely compromised should retire.  There is no reason the wait unless other medical conditions exist that cause risk to the patient.  If your Dr. is dragging you along I have to wonder if he/she is up to date with their medical facts or making money on your visits.  Get a different Dr.!!

I am a nurse as well.  It is old school to wait until cataracts are so called "ripe".  There is no urgency to have them done unless your vision is affected but no reason to wait, revisit the ophthalmologist frequently, take unnecessary medication or special expensive lenses.  I had mine done right after diagnosis, both eyes but separate procedures.  I didn't think I had problems until I saw colors so vividly right after and why wait until you are older with possible increased risk factors. 

Honored Contributor