Valued Contributor

Progressive Lenses in Glasses

Hello Everyone!

I went to the eye dr today and need newer glasses.   I can't read with my old ones so they want me get progressive lenses.   Apparently, these lenses have distance on top, computer/screen lenses in middle and reading on  bottom.

I'm so worried about how they will feel and if I'll get used to them.   I do know I need them, but am anxious about it.

Has anyone had experience with these glasses?   Also, I will be getting a 30% discount on the glasses if I choose to buy from my optometrist.   I don't have a Costco membership here.    I do want good glasses, not cheap ones.   I don't want to pay for designer (fancy ones) either.

Don't know what to to do really.   I'm kind of new at all of this.

Esteemed Contributor

Re: Progressive Lenses in Glasses

No need to be anxious! You'll adapt to them in no time! They're great - as they allow you to see well. Everybody I know over 48 wears them when they need glasses.

Trusted Contributor

Hi, Frosted Cake.  I am new to progressive lenses, too. I got mine about a year ago. They will tell you how to use them. I have been using readers for many years but did not need the distance. I have not really gotten used to them. It takes a lot of work. I cannot walk in mine. I am hoping to get some sunglasses with just distance part for driving. Good luck with yours, you might love them.

Valued Contributor

I appreciate the reviews, but am skeptical.    

I worry when you say you can't walk in them.   I walk for exercise and can't imagine being uncomfortable.

I wore contact lenses and I'm not happy about having to adjust to glasses full time.

Honored Contributor

@Frosted Cake wrote:

Hello Everyone!

I went to the eye dr today and need newer glasses.   I can't read with my old ones so they want me get progressive lenses.   Apparently, these lenses have distance on top, computer/screen lenses in middle and reading on  bottom.