Frequent Contributor

Hello everyone, I am a Registered Nurse , and worked for 40 years in the Operating Room. Several times, unknownly of course, I have hit my head pretty hard on the OR lights or the "boom" coming from the ceiling. The worst event happened when I was circulating a weekend hand case, and ran into the "boom" after prepping the hand. While prepping, the surgeon is behind me and positioning the lights and when I was done, I turned and hit my head so hard it knocked me out cold. Long story short, several days later, I am scrubbed in with an ENT surgeon and several times she asked me if I was ok, of which I said yes, but in the middle of the case she said I needed to come to her office once the surgery was over. I asked why?? And she said you have NYSTAGMUS, and its very concerning. Went to her office and she put me in her "positional chair" and corrected then condition and told me that I have developed BPPV. I have had several episodes of vertigo that has caused violent episodes of nausea and vomiting. I was taught the EPLY manuever and have had to do it a number of times in these past 20 years, and thanks to you tube, they have experts that show you how to do  it properly and can resolve the situation until the next time it decides to show up. I know when it is coming on , with me, if I am in bed and turn to either side and can feel that sensation that your head continues to move even though you are on your side. So a round or two of the eply manuever done on my bed, 10 minutes apart takes care of it. MJ

Respected Contributor

Thank you, I just tried the Epley maneuver and then fell asleep x 3 hours. Almost missing the entire football game today ( I watch my team religiously). I think I feel a little better right now. We will see. Thanks for the information. 

I am a RN too, and can't imagine hitting my head on the overhead lights. Yikes, I never knew that happened. 

Respected Contributor