Respected Contributor

@Nightowlz   I know we've talked before about the Birkenstocks.  I have been wearing them almost exclusively for probably 15 years.  I actually found a knock-off brand that works better for me and costs much less.  They are called Calceo, and I've only bought them through Zulily for about $30, so I don't know where else they are available.  The footbed is exactly the same except they are a bit softer and more flexible right out of the box.  I also have a baby bunion on my left foot that hurts when I wear the harder Birks, but does well in my Calceos!  I have one pair that I wear in the house as slippers.....no way can I go barefoot, even at home, without getting heel pain!

Laura loves cats!
Contributor

Re: all the different ways you Re: Plantar Fasciitis

The right shoes will only help long term if you have orthoics. My husbannd has both types of orthotics; likes them both. I have custom orthotics.   Been wearing orthotics for 27 years. you should buy a new pair of walking shoes after you get orthotics. This is so you can purchse a pair that fits right and feels good.  The pain from the plantar fasciitus willl go away then. Mine disappeared after 8 days.

Honored Contributor

@lulu1 wrote:

@Nightowlz 

Have you had an MRI?

A few years ago I had all the classic symptoms of PF.  I was in PT for 9 weeks where I had laser treatments.  I never improved and the pain became excruciating.   Finally I had an MRI and discovered I had a torn tendon.  New diagnosis so back to PT and I wore a walking boot on and off for months.  Still no improvement. (and horrendous pain)

Finally I had a stem cell infusion in my foot.  Almost immediately there was no pain.  I had custom orthotics made.  Wore them for awhile but hated them.

I have not had any symptoms since.

@lulu1 

Never had an MRI. I told my doctor about it in May but she did not have much to say about it. She said I could see a podiatrist.

Honored Contributor

@50Mickey wrote: