Respected Contributor

@Toots711 wrote:

@bargainsgirl 

I have severe dry eyes. 
The only prescription product that helps me is Lacrisert ophthalmic inserts made by Bausch & Lomb. 
Restasis and Xiidra eyedrop prescriptions both burned my eyes. 
The OTC eye drops that work best for me are Bion Tears preservative-free lubricant eye drops for severe dry eyes in single vials. 
All the best in your search!

DF36BE4F-4A5A-4CBF-B890-E0993378AEAE.jpeg

I have suffered from Dry Eyes for 10+  years.  I used Restasis for about 5 years and eventually it stopped working for me.  I went to Xiidra with little success. I've been using Alrex for a few years now.  Recently I had a severe spell in one eye so have been on a course of Prednisolone Acetate for 6 weeks. (comes to an end this week)  It has been a life changer.  My OTC choice is Systane. I too have "plugs".

Understanding Dry Eye Syndrome is so baffling.  Until you've experienced it, it makes little sense.

My doctor recently told me, the burning we experience when drops are added, is frequently due to the PH of your eye.

Honored Contributor

Lessmans Lutein supplement is helpful for dry eyes, i buy other brands that are ven more potent. Mine are 40 mg each.  Also Sea Buckthorn Oil Omega 7 is very good for dry eyes. My opth gave me Systane drops for my dry eye. 

Honored Contributor

I take otc eye drops.  They help but I still have some symptom.  I'd heard about fish oil supplements.  I'll try them.  

Trusted Contributor

Yes, fish oil does help. Andrew makes a really good one. I use Restasis, and it helps me a lot. I also got punctal plugs, which do help a little. It's an extremely challenging disease, and you have to find the right combination of things that ease your symptoms. Definitely get preservative-free eye drops (I use Refresh Plus). It makes a big difference.

Originally joined board 12-14-2004
Honored Contributor

@Shelbelle wrote: