Trusted Contributor

The Complete America's Test Kitchen TV Show Cookbook 2001 ...

Best Book Stand Portable Wooden Reading Desk Recipe ...

I highly recommend this atk cookbook, it is loaded with info, recipes, and lots more.  It is heavy but i bought the book holder from amazon and it's a excellent combo. 

Respected Contributor

@Eileen in Virginia wrote:

The Better Homes and Gardens New Cookbook (mine was new in 1975). My Aunt gave it to me for a shower gift and it was a godsend because I had never put dinner on the table up to that point. Now that I'm a much more experienced cook, I still refer to it for some oldies but goodies. Mine came in a 3-ring binder and was organized by recipe type. The directions are clear and there are step-by-step pictures for many of the recipes.

Got mine in 1974.  I used it a lot through the years....now I just pull it out in November, as it has the fruitcake recipe I use.   I will definitely be keeping it.

I don't know that young people will use cookbooks...most anything they want is online, and that is what they are used to.  Why not call or text the bride-to-be or her Mom and see if she would want a cookbook?  And perhaps she would love to get a great cookbook....you don't know unless you ask.

Valued Contributor

Jamie Oliver's 5 Ingredients:  Quick & Easy Food

Exactly how young people cook today, good food that takes about 15 minutes to prep.  Great for anyone who gets home from work and doesn't have a lot of time to spend in the kitchen.  Also good for new cooks.

Honored Contributor

The old standard cookbooks do not apply to a lot of what people eat today.  Also, since we all eat differently you would have to know what her tastes lean toward.

Some magazines and their cookbooks cater to people who eat much like we ate in the 1970's with lots of casseroles and bread like dishes, heavy sauces, etc.