Valued Contributor

Has anyone on here worked for Rover pet sitters or Dogvaca?

I am retired & would like to do something part time & thought about doing something working with dogs. I really have no idea how to start & have noticed the Rover pet sitting co. with local people doing this. Just wondered if anyone knew if they were on the up & up & how they would be to work with. I know people book thru their site & pay them & then they pay you. I was hoping with all the dog people out there that someone might either work for them or know someone who does. I love dogs so much & I really need to get a part time job. I just thought it would be a win win situation if I could get into it! Any ideas or sugestions would be greatly apperciated!  Thanks!

Esteemed Contributor

Re: Has anyone on here worked for Rover pet sitters or Dogvaca?

I have no experience with this particular company, I do know someone who uses a simular company.  They love having someone come in and check on the dog during the day and to let them out.  I am sure each company has their own set of rules but they are usually a small staff so dependability is key.  We recently had some bad weather here.  It was a major issue to get someone out to each of their clients.  It is a commitment they make, so those who work for them must also take it seriously.  If you are looking for a flexible schedule, it may not be something for you.

Someday, when scientists discover the center of the Universe....some people will be disappointed it is not them.
Respected Contributor

I found the pet sitter that I use on Rover.

She's wonderful, and I don't hear that she has any complaints about Rover, other than she gets more business than she can handle. Smiley Happy

If you are considering being a pet sitter, a couple of things you need to consider is that you'll need to be available to people when they need you..weekends, holidays, etc.