Contributor

Re: Composting: I Feel Like I'm Missing Out..

I've been composting for about 5-6 years.  It's just the two of us and honestly it's not such a burdensome process as some have stated here.  I have a small vegetable garden and typically what is composted goes into the garden in the fall.  I compost all my fruit and vegetable scraps, moldy bread, pasta that has gone bad but without sauce or oil.  I add the dried blossoms from peonies, potted plant soil from plants that have died, coffee grinds, tea bags, corn husks.  They key is to cut the food scraps so they break down quickly. For the dry I shred in my shredder the Safeway grocery add which is printed with soy ink. I purchased my compost bin from the city I live in and it's made from recycled material.  It's locked therefore no wildlife can get in and the lid helps to heat it up.  I turn it once a week and check it every other day to see if it needs moisture.  I feel good knowing we're helping to reduce green house gases and I don't have to purchase fertilizer.  For the person who started this thread, maybe a neighbor has a garden you can give your compost to?  Or you can spread your compost under trees and shrubs too.

Honored Contributor

@63mkm

We have an association, so there are lots of rules.  You did give me a good idea though. Cat Happy We have an elementary school behind us (currently being remodeled) and I wonder if they would partner up with us so that we could "dispose" of our scraps and the kids could see the process of how composting works?  I'm sure that there are a lot of STEM lessons and labs that could be done.  Maybe they would even get on board with a community garden.  

Honored Contributor

We don't compost but do recycle and have a very large recycling facility in our community. We also have solar panels...maybe composting is in our future.

Esteemed Contributor

We are just getting into composting but we live rural and have acreage.