Respected Contributor

Re: Someone Knowledgeable - Enlighten Me About Handbags

When I was a student and just starting my career, I carried pleather. I switched to leather, not because it was 'designer," but number one, a lot of the chemicals were a trigger for my asthma and two, they couldn't repair them and I hated throwing bags or keep spending money on cheap knockoffs.

That was a long time ago and it was possible to buy real leather Tig bags. Nine West was also leather. (Tig. now is part leather/pleather and I don't know when they started that.) At a certain point, I started buying leather bags. I waited a long time to buy my first Coach. They weren't made in China and I still own some of those bags. They have held up beautifully and if they need to be refurbished or repaired, they can be. You can't do that with pleather.

At the end of the day, there are two camps: those who care about handbags and those who don't. You pick out what you can afford or are willing to pay for. Also what fits in your lifestyle.You do the same for everyone else. Your choices are personal.

Trusted Contributor

Tiganello is from the same company as B. mak. I bought one and didn't care for their leather.
Trusted Contributor

Handbags are important accessories for me. They are not just a vehicle for carrying my necessities. With that being said, I absolutely adore Kate Spade bags and wallets. I love the interesting styles and colors. They transform a nice outfit into something very special. The quality is unsurpassed and just as nice if not better then $2,000 bags. Even the linings are gorgeous and they all hold up beautifully. I have "never" had anything rip or come apart. I "always" receive compliments no matter where I go - even by men. I won't buy anything else and I own about 25 of them and use them all.

Honored Contributor

On 7/20/2014 JavaQueen said: