New Contributor

I have been growing roses for 45 years and sadly, last year, I lost over 40 rose bushes to Rose Rosette. I have 3 bushes left and I doubt that they will be spared. PLEASE look up Rose Rosette and keep a tight eye on your rose bushes. It is very easy to identify and you must pull the entire affected bush, roots and all very very carefully to avoid shaking and spreading, and bag them immediately. The disease is caused by a virus and transmitted by mites and wind. Texas A&M University along with many many agricultural centers accross the U.S. and Canada are studying it and so far have not come up with any cure. I hope that QVC refreigns from selling roses, any rose, and The Knot Out Rose is NOT the culprit, it simply is very susceptible to the virus.

I will resort to plants like hibiscus, greenery and some flowers and I miss my rose garden......

Trusted Contributor

I'm so sorry. That must of been devastating. What area of the country do you live in. I know a few years ago  our state had a huge loss of roses but it was from having a bad freeze to early in the year.

Trusted Contributor

Re: Rose Rosette

[ Edited ]

I had this disease attack my roses too.  I had planted 6 red knockouts along a white picket fence.  For 2 years they were so beautiful.  The third year at the end of the season, I noticed weird growth.  I knew something was not right, so I googled information about it, and saw pictures of the disease....knew right away that's what it was. 

We did pull all the roses.  I did leave the roses that were a different color, different  kind (climbing).  I had some knockouts in the back garden....they looked okay, and have remained okay, but I am expecting all these roses could be affected at any time. Maybe it's the wrong tactic, but I'm not pulling them until they look definitely sick.