Esteemed Contributor

I'm thinking of buying a raised bed and try growing vegetables for the first time this year.  What are the easiest plants to start with and when (in zone 6) should I start buying and planting?  What soil should I buy?  Do I need to cover the plants from critters?  As you can see I'm a rookie at this.  Any help would be appreciated.

Respected Contributor

Re: Raised Beds for Vegetables

I would suggest to contact your local Extension Office.  They have Master Gardeners available and all the information you need you can get free of charge from them.  Happy gardening.

Esteemed Contributor

YOU WILL LEARN A LOT MORE HERE FROM EXPERIENCED GARDENERS  THAN ANY PRINTED BROCHURE ...FOR SURE.

Tip #1 first layer = bottom layer of stones for drainage - then soil

Another poster can add Tip #2

Honored Contributor

Yes, if you have deer, rabbits, or other hungry critters in the neighborhood, you'll want to cover your bed.  Otherwise, they will thank you for beautifully setting the table for them.

Respected Contributor

@Biftu wrote:

I'm thinking of buying a raised bed and try growing vegetables for the first time this year.  What are the easiest plants to start with and when (in zone 6) should I start buying and planting?  What soil should I buy?  Do I need to cover the plants from critters?  As you can see I'm a rookie at this.  Any help would be appreciated.

If you're in zone 6 you should plant around May 1.  Depends on what you're thinking about putting out.  For a raised bed, maybe green onions, lettuce, cucumbers, cabbage.  If you plan on planting tomatoes, they'll have to be staked so they'll grow tall and not break.

As another poster mentioned, you'll definitely want to cover with some chicken wire or other type.

Respected Contributor

[ Edited ]

@Biftu    You can get a big bag of topsoil at Walmart for about $7.  Depending on how large your bed is will determine how many you'll need.  Sorry I neglected to answer this before.💝🌸