Trusted Contributor

I work from home and my old printer died.

I ordered a new one from Staples and it will arrive on Tuesday.

When I first started working from home (about 5 years ago) all I remember about setting up the printer was contacting our employer's "Help Desk" and I think it went pretty well.

My understanding of tech is so very limited.  I know just enough to get my job done.

I never had any computer classes in school (I'm too old for that), we do not have any children that can help - so I get by mostly with what I can find out by looking on-line, viewing U-Tube etc. and asking my QVC friends.

I guess I'm kinda nervous about trying to get the new printer set-up.  Can you think of any thing that I would need to know before I contact the Help Desk so that I'm "prepared"? 

Respected Contributor

I work in IT but not with printers, I just remember the main issue was connecting to my wifi, I think things have come a long way with this stuff, you could probably find a youtube video to help you.

Honored Contributor

@BunSnoop   It's been a few years since I had to set up my printer, but I do remember that when I had trouble connecting to my WiFi, I called BRothers for support because they were the manufacturers.  I got very accurate and patient support -  this was pre-pandemic so I don't know that they have the staff for that service now.

Let's hope your company IT or your manufacturer IT can help.

Honored Contributor

Re: Setting Up a Printer

[ Edited ]

@BunSnoop - You didn't say what brand or type of printer you're getting, but any of them should come with instructions on how to set up.

It's generally easy - plug in and connect to wi-fi by entering your network password (if you're getting a wireless printer).

Then add the printer as a device on your computer.  (And delete your old printer, since you won't be accessing that anymore.)  Your new printer needs to be your default printer.