Super Contributor

I have cable and want to get rid of it.  I am not tech, and was hoping to get some help here. I did read some old Roku threads here, but I need it explained from the beginning.

1. Do I need a special TV (I read there are Roku TVs.  What about them?  What about if I wanted to get a Roku kit)?

2. Can I get my local TV stations/news?

3. There will no longer be a cable DVR box.  So there is no more recording of shows?  You just look them up/nowhere to save them like in a DVR box?

4.  I am not interested in the extras like Netflix.  So there is no monthly bill?

I really do appreciate the help and thank you in advance.

Honored Contributor

@Lucky Dog I am not a techie either, so I can't offer you much help. I have a Roku stick that plugs into the side ( in a port) of my tv. I would think you would want to subscribe to a streaming service that offers you live tv such as HULU, there are others. Good luck, I hope others more knowledgeable than I can help you.

Valued Contributor

You can use Roku with any TV. In order to use Roku you must have internet access.  You will not get your local stations through Roku. My family uses Roku instead of cable, but we also signed up for YouTube TV through our Roku. It costs approximately $65. monthly & we're able to view our local stations through that. We're also able to record tv shows through YouTube TV.  Unfortunately, I don't know of any way to receive "free" tv anymore. If you want only your local stations, & nothing more, you can look into an antenna. They aren't difficult to hook up, but depending on how far away your stations are, you might have trouble connecting to them. I hope this helps. 

Super Contributor

@Ladylaughsalot ,

Amateur question: an antenna like one that goes on the roof of your house?  How else can I get local news/local stations?

Honored Contributor