Respected Contributor

Quick Question - LG Tracfone from August, 2016

[ Edited ]

Newbie here...I logged into my Tracfone account to check my balance and was wondering what SERVICE END DATE refers to.  Is that the date that the minutes expire that came with the phone when purchased?  My Service End Date is 9/17, so it's a year after my new phone was activated..

I'm a casual cell phone user, and this question was probably covered during the presentation, so forgive me if I'm asking a really dumb question, LOL. 

Thank you!

"Summer afternoon-summer afternoon; to me those have always been the two most beautiful words in the English language." ~Henry James
Honored Contributor

Re: Quick Question - LG Tracfone from August, 2016

I have the new Tracfone as well.   Your service end date is a reminder than you must add "minutes" prior to that date to keep your phone service & phone number active.

@Topaz Gem wrote:

Newbie here...I logged into my Tracfone account to check my balance and was wondering what SERVICE END DATE refers to.  Is that the date that the minutes expire that came with the phone when purchased?  My Service End Date is 9/17, so it's a year after my new phone was activated..

I'm a casual cell phone user, and this question was probably covered during the presentation, so forgive me if I'm asking a really dumb question, LOL. 

Thank you!

Honored Contributor

[ Edited ]

@Topaz Gem

You buy minutes and 'air time'. The air time is what the 'service date' refers to. Think of it as paying to use their air wave signal.

You may still have minutes left when 9/17 rolls around, but you'll need to buy more 'air time', which usually includes more minutes.

Your remaining minutes will rollover, in addition to the minutes you buy to extend your air time, so you don't lose them.

Tracfone has several different plans on their website for different amounts of air time/minutes, but you can buy Tracfone cards for these at just about any grocery, drug or dept. store.