Super Contributor

I'm not a super pro when it comes to texting.   I was wondering, I have a friend (only this person) who says he texted me but I never got it.  Yet no one else who I text with has that issue.

When I send texts it shows it was sent.  If someone sends a text and for some reason it doesn't go through to the recipient, do you - the sender - get a "can't be sent" or "undeliverable" message?

I have been receiving texts today from various people, but this one person says he sent it this morning.  I did get his reply when I asked if he got mine and had no issues with his replies. 

I am just wondering how it works or if this "friend" is just giving me a load of bull.

Thanks.

Respected Contributor

I have had one message on my phone saying "text failed" -  I have a very old Samsung phone from tracfone. 

Super Contributor

Re: Question About Texting

[ Edited ]

@cindyNC wrote:

I have had one message on my phone saying "text failed" -  I have a very old Samsung phone from tracfone. 

Cindy,

I would think you would get some message saying the text wasn't sent or not complete.

If he sent it the text went somewhere.   Nothing wrong with my phone, I was getting messages from others today no issues.

That is what I hate about texting over actually talking to someone.  They can ignore you, send you just emoji's with no words or response and then say they sent it but you never got it.  It's such an imperfect way to communicate in many ways.

I appreciate your response.   I think this friend was making excuses.

Honored Contributor

@Ladygray wrote:

I'm not a super pro when it comes to texting.   I was wondering, I have a friend (only this person) who says he texted me but I never got it.  Yet no one else who I text with has that issue.

When I send texts it shows it was sent.  If someone sends a text and for some reason it doesn't go through to the recipient, do you - the sender - get a "can't be sent" or "undeliverable" message?