New Contributor

Get pictures from old computer

I have a very old XP that barely works. I’m going to get rid of it. What’s the best way to get pictures off of it? I’m not very technically Davy but I’d appreciate anything you’d recommend.
Honored Contributor

Re: Get pictures from old computer

Email the pics to yourself on another comp.

Do you have Dropbox on all your comp and/or mobile devices?  If so, put the pics inside the Dropbox folder.  The pics will then appear in the Dropbox folders you have on your other devices.

"Never argue with a fool. Onlookers may not be able to tell the difference."

220-AuCC-US-CRM-Header-Update.gif

Super Contributor

I downloaded all of my pictures from my old computer onto a flashdrive; then I uploaded them into my new computer.  I am not computer savy much either.  

Valued Contributor

@7moves does your computer have a port you can put a flash drive in?

If so, just click the pic and download to the the flashy.  At this time, you can keep them on numerous choices.  You can get them put on a CD, you can get them in print if that is your choice, and you can upload them to your new computer.  U can do some of each, it is up to you.  

Good luck!

Respected Contributor

@Mz iMac wrote:

Email the pics to yourself on another comp.

Do you have Dropbox on all your comp and/or mobile devices?  If so, put the pics inside the Dropbox folder.  The pics will then appear in the Dropbox folders you have on your other devices.

Depending on the number of photos you have, that can be quite tedious.  Plus, some mail program will automatically make the photos smaller so they are easier to send.  As posted, get either a flash drive or an external hard drive and drag/drop the photos.  If you have a CD/DVD recorder, you can also make CDs/DVDs and have a more permanant copy. 

Honored Contributor

[ Edited ]

A USB is probably the easiest.