Honored Contributor

Re: Surprising Encounter at Fast Food Stop

@JaneMarple 

Alternative store vs a conventional one.

A conventional one would be a mainstream store like Macys', Home Dept, Lowes, Talbots, Nordstrom to name a few.

An alternative shop that draws a different crowd from the conventional would be something like Rebel Circus, Tragic Beautiful, I am attitude, etc.  They tend to be smaller shops that draw people who like the type of clothing that you wouldn't see at your typical office which offer lots of  leather with studs & cut outs, body piercings and including contact lenses that make a startling appearance.  Shops with attitude and people who want to make a different statement.  

That's why I was surprised that those cat eye contacts which I find a bit creepy (maybe it's just me) allowed in a conventional store...Things have certainly changed since I worked in retail.

Respected Contributor

@Lali1 wrote:

Sounds like you’re looking for kudos and an argument.

@Lali1   It would be helpful to know who you're chastising in your last three posts.

~The only difference between this place and the Titanic is that the Titanic had a band.~
Esteemed Contributor

@Ms tyrion2 wrote:

@Patriot3 wrote:

@patbz  I don't blame you one bit for saying something.  I don't know why people's alternate choice in life needs to be shoved down our throats. 

If that's their choice, fine, but do they need to flaunt it?  They know perfectly well that is not the "norm".  They just want attention.  I would have complained to management.  It certainly can't be sanitary, as another poster said.

Please, everyone, don't jump all over me.......this is JMO.

@Patriot3 ,

Clearly you are not fine with people who appear out of the norm-whatever that is.  What exactly was he "flaunting"?

Perhaps "flaunt" was a bad choice of words. It means to display ostentatiously.  It sounds to me he was just a kid, working in a fast food place, wearing nail polish.