Valued Contributor

Though I understand that there are many important people/professions that are underappreciated financially, it seems that lately everyone feels the need to be overtly appreciated. There seem to be some real chips on shoulders.  I am JUST a teacher to many, I JUST teach elementary school to many.  However, I'm not looking for everyone to notice me, show me great appreciation for everything I do, and acknowledge my many skills and abilities.  I do what I do because I love it and I find satisfaction INSIDE myself.  The only time I feel the need to delineate the long list of things I do for my students and their families is during contract negotiations when I am being asked to justify getting even a 1% raise.  And I don't delineate all that I do for students and families for students and families, just for my employers.  It all makes me wonder, in this day of social media and "reality" TV, if we have turned into a society filled with people who need "special" attention, who need to feel acknowledged on a public level.  IMO, that's a clear sign of someone who has no REAL self-esteem.