Honored Contributor

Re: Do you carry anything on you for protection?

[ Edited ]

Here's the thing.... never carry anything you haven't been trained with.... the reason, it can easily be taken away from you and used against you.

I have a 2nd degree Black Belt in Tang Soo Do Karate. I am also trained in Hapkido, have certifications in staffs, swords and hand to hand.  I have been in free fighting competitions (females and males) and have taught adults and children the art of defense. 

Always be aware of your surroundings (and most here say they are!)... and to never discount gut feelings.

Learning what they call "one step fighting", Hapkido, which are knowing joint locks, throws, dynamic kicking techniques and using someone else's inerta to overcome a hostile situation can be learned quickly and practiced exclusively allowing the student to be proficient very fast. Practicing this over and over doesn't require having to study a whole Martial Arts.  Streamlining defense into something more practical  Gives great confidence and is highly effective.

I have always recommended women find a decent women's self defense class and at least take it once, and practice the moves with someone often.  And if the  woman gets the chance to practice with a man, to do so because men and women fight differently and those women who get the opportunity carry with them the knowledge and experience if/when they get into trouble....  

As far as pepper sprays, etc... they're great provided you have the time to use them, and they aren't taken away from you and used to disable you.

I no longer train as I used to do and no longer do the fancy stuff, or demo nunchaku, swords or staffs, or teach but I do keep up with the one step defense, very easy to do, doesn't require a lot of effort, just repetitive motions and can be practiced with or without a partner.

I hope everyone remains safe and that no one ever has to use any self defense....