Esteemed Contributor

Anyone decide not to return to work?

I have a teacher friend who decided to retire rather than return to the classroom because of the virus.  She is in good health but her husband has diabetes and COPD and she is concerned about the compromising position of her husband.

My hospice nurse neighbor decided to take an early retirement.  She's in her early 60s.

Another friend who is retired was working in retail part time just to get out of the house, and due to her age decided it was not worth returning.

A friend's college age daughter also decided to leave her restaurant job for fear of a possible infection to her parents.

All these people are in decent financial positions where they do not need to return to work.  Others who aren't as fortunate have no choice.

We never seem to hear about those who are in fear of returning to their jobs.

Trusted Contributor

Re: Anyone decide not to return to work?

I am a retired teacher who has been subbing for the last 4 years.  I have decided not to continue subbing, at least for the foreseeable future.

Honored Contributor

My cousin and his wife a both teachers and they retired at the end of the school year.  It was painful for them, they love teaching and had planned to work until they were 70 but he has a pulmonary condition and she has hypertension so they thought it prudent to retire.

Another friend is an RN, his wife is an emergency room physician.  They both worked with Covid 19 patients last year.  He worked in an ICU and says it broke him emotionally.  He retired in June.  His wife contracted Covid 19 last winter but recovered nicely.  She's considering retiring, depending on what happens this winter.