Respected Contributor

Amazon Account Hacked Again

[ Edited ]

Make sure you check your junk mail and archived orders everyday at Amazon.  My account has been hacked into 2 times since August.  Yes, I did everything I could to stop this from happening again.  I used to work in the computer industry and know what not to do.  The first time it took 2 months to clear it up and the second time 3 days.  I also discovered you don’t have to talk to a different country, but can ask for someone in the US.  I am never hacked into in other store accounts.  Something is seriously wrong with Amazon.  I told my husband I want to get rid of it.  

My son’s boss was hacked the same day that I was. 

Honored Contributor

Re: Amazon Account Hacked Again

2 factor authentication?

leave your CCard info off the site until you want to buy?

that is a pain in the neck 

Honored Contributor

[ Edited ]

I had a CC hacked from Amazon and it wasn't saved on my account either, it was entered when I placed an order directly from Amazon and NOT a 3rd party vendor.  Amazon was only purchase made on that card too. Thankfully I notificed the fraudulent purchase and notified my credit card company quickly and they took care of it, closed card and issued new one.......

I found an article that discussed how little time and effort Amazon devotes to security and keeping customer info safe...I guess they are too busy trying to conquer the world.  I canceled my account with Amazon. 

PLEASE be deligent and double check orders and credit cards and bank statements, especially this time of year...One person even talked about a hacker getting through 2 step verification process

https://getlogdog.com/blogdog/amazon-account-hacked/

https://jeffreyfritz.com/2018/01/my-amazon-account-was-hacked-and-how-i-made-it-more-secure/

From a IT Blog

Hi All,

Woke up at 9:30am to (2) text messages for two-step notification from Amazon at 5:00am.