Esteemed Contributor

Dr. Shereene Idris offered some points for beginning a retinol regime. She said that it's best to start in the fall or spring because of skin content in different seasons. Start using retinol products at night 2-3 times a week to get the skin used to the product. Can use more often after several weeks or a month if needed. 

Doctorly with Dr.Maxfield and Dr. Shah also like retinols, and they say to start easy to get used to the product. Go with something gentle that suits your skin needs. Doctorly mentions Cerave Retinol Serum (either resurfacing or renewing depending on needs. Both Doctorly and Idris mention Olay Retinol 24 for beginners. 

I'm interested in starting a retinol regime, but will probably wait a couple months. This isn't a emergency where I have to start immediately. Will  be going with retinol product, not retinA since I've never tried this before. 

Both Doctorly and Dr. Idris give great tips, and, though have different ideas, they do agree on many things. They are the only videos I watch for skincare. Makeup or fashion I go elsewhere. 

"The more I learn about people, the more I like my dog."

Mark Twain
Honored Contributor

I started using a 3% Retinol serum, no kind of prep or tutorials , I just apply it at night. Put a light moistirizer over it. 

Honored Contributor

I don't do a "ritual" or anything "complicated".    And if I forget for a day, that's OK, too.......

♥Surface of the Sun♥
Honored Contributor

Re: Retinol starting tips

[ Edited ]

If I had to do it all over again from the beginning then I would go straight for the Retin-A and not even start with retinol. I would use the lowest strength Retin-A and then work up gradually from there. My derm said that if you are going to use a retinoid product, retinol is going to cost the most to get to your goal and that you get more bang for your buck when you use Retin-A.

Honored Contributor