Trusted Contributor

Help Need Hair Color Correction!

To any hair colorists out there or anyone with a lot of hair color experience.  I had a minor disaster yesterday and was advised how to correct it but would like your opinions.

I have long hair. I've been coloring my hair with semi-permanent color for many years (Dark Blonde).  I colored my entire head the first time and since have only colored the roots.  Results have been excellent with L'Oreal products.  Then they discontinued them.

By now I have gray around my hairline. I switched to Clairol Natural Instincts and the color matched perfectly too but it washed out in literally 1 washing.  Clairol advised me to use Nice and Easy Dark Blonde (permanent color).  I've been really scared to start with permanent but have little choice.  I used it only around my hairline yesterday and now I have an ORANGE !!! hairline.

I called Clairol and was advised to use Nice and Easy Ash Blonde #9.  I'm really afraid to do this thinking I'll wind up with some off color like green.  In the meantime I have ordered Paul Mitchell Clarifying shampoo to hopefully strip some of this color.

Your thoughts?  Thanks.

Wear a mask. Social distance. Be part of the solution - not part of the problem.
Contributor

Re: Help Need Hair Color Correction!

dont fool around coloring long hair at home

Esteemed Contributor

@Deree 

Since you've already got problems with the color pickup, I would get to a professional as soon as possible.

Let her/him get the color corrected, then go from there with new products.

Why risk further problems?

Trusted Contributor

[ Edited ]

@linda2  Like I said I've been doing it for a couple of decades with excellent results and like I said I've only done the roots so the long hair is not a factor.  

Wear a mask. Social distance. Be part of the solution - not part of the problem.
Honored Contributor

[ Edited ]