Valued Contributor

Re: Foundation that stays put under surgical mask?

@just bee wrote:

I've always wondered why hospitals aren't run like high tech cleanrooms. When I worked in the semiconductor industry wearing cosmetics was not allowed in the fab. I would think they'd want a similar environment in the OR. Staff scrubs in before the operation and everything is clean and precise. When I had surgery a few years ago I was told not to wear contacts or makeup. I would think the medical team would be held to the same standards.

That said, I was a nursing student up until last spring and now I work as an RN. Some wear cosmetics, some don't. I do in my area because it's a psych unit -- a much different environment than, say, Med-Surg or ICU.

But I keep it minimal: Lumene BB cream, eyeliner, mascara, lip balm. If I knew I'd be wearing a mask, I'd skip the makeup entirely.

ETA:

Best of luck on the NCLEX! {#emotions_dlg.thumbup}

You were asked to not wear makeup or wear nail polish, as it can interfere with the ability to care for you.

When you have surgery, you are given a cocktail of medications to put you under.  One of them is a medication that causes drying of the eyes.  If you use mascara it can get on your cornea, which now that your eyes are dry, can cause corneal scratching.

Nail polish can interfere with the use of a pulse oximiter- the little device that goes on your finger to check oxygenation.  

Facial makeup can give a false idea as to what the patient's coloration is.  It is very important to see if the patient has lost color in their face or their face has become red.

Valued Contributor

[ Edited ]