Honored Contributor

@dosey wrote:

There is a great technical college in town that has bridge programs to some large state universities. The tuition is so low that a person with decent high school grades could attend for free because of the SC life scholarship.  However, suggest the bridge program to a teenager, and they will think you have cottage cheese for a brain.  I do not understand this.  I started going to school at a local junior college.  Later, I transferred and did just fine.

Here's one for you to analyze, just bee.  My husband's college education was paid for by his parents.  When he graduated, his parents gave him a trip to Europe.  I worked and paid for my education.  When I graduated, my parents gave me nothing.  Today, if we are able to pay for my kids' education, I will be thrilled.  My husband wants them to pay for something.  I know he is right (don't tell him), but I still want to do as much as I can for them.  Are they spoiled?  Am I overprotective?  What?

Like I said, good parents.  You are just fully aware and appreciate the value of what you have earned -- and how hard you had to work to get it.  Do what you can within reason.  One of the best parts of self-actualization is becoming aware of the good things our parents did for us.  I think a happy balance is called for here: A child needs to appreciate both his parents' contribution and his own.

~My philosophy: Dogs are God's most perfect creatures. Angels, here on Earth, who teach us to be better human beings.~
Honored Contributor

@dosey wrote:

Yes, ComPacters, temptation has been everywhere.  All shopping networks have had beauty specials.  I managed to find something "wrong" with all of them preventing a purchase.  I did like the TF Bon Bon eyeshadow palette quite a bit but did not want to give up $49 for it.

I only have one empty to report - a tube of Korres body butter.  I have several empties coming down the pike.  It shouldn't be more than two weeks before they are history.