Regular Contributor

I'm thinking about retiring, I've been doing childcare in my home for 20+ yrs. How do you spend your days,just curious.

Esteemed Contributor

Re: Question for those retired

[ Edited ]

I exercise a few days a week, take care of 6 cats, cook a real meal sometimes, clean sometimes, run errands, nap, play on the IPad way to much. There are days I do basically nothing because I don’t want to or didn’t sleep well. Best thing is I don’t have to meet some corporate America quota. I don’t know,  I keep busy, not bored. 

Esteemed Contributor

Doing whatever I want, whenever I want, for the most part.

Too busy to list it all for you.

Caring for me, my family, my dog, my home, reading, hobbies, getting together with friends and volunteering are just a few. All the things I did previously, just with more time to do them and on my chosen schedule.

Respected Contributor

Don't become my sister.  She spends most of her days watching TV.  She does take our mom to the doctor's when needed, so I'll give her that  . . .

-- pro-aging --

Rochester, New York
Esteemed Contributor

Te he, I am well into my second hour of coffee but will struggle over to the TV for some news any time now 😂

You will find things to do, the rest of my day will be full.

Esteemed Contributor

Another thought if you like kids, the should be a crisis nursery/childcare nearby.  Give them a call.

Respected Contributor

All the responses sound wonderful (so far at least).  I too am looking to retire in the next few years.  I look forward to doing much the same activities that I do now outside of work, only at a much more relaxed pace.  .  I can't wait!!!Woman LOL

Honored Contributor