Respected Contributor

Computer Security (Like Norton)

Norton is 115.00 per year. I am not tech savvy but would like to know, what else can I use that is more of a one time expense so I don't have to pay this 115 a year on a fixed income.  Thank you for any help you can provide. 

Honored Contributor

Re: Computer Security (Like Norton)

[ Edited ]

@SandGirl - We've had Norton on our electronic devices for years now.  And just yesterday I had to use it to do a full-system scan to find and remove a malware threat.  (Like an idiot, I clicked on a link in an email supposedly from an acquaintance.  Supposed to be photos - only problem?  That person's account had been hacked.)

If you get Norton through their website it's ridiculously expensive.  But we buy it from places like BJs, Sam's or even places like Walmart and Best Buy, you can get it for a lot less.  The price depends on how many devices you want to protect, but usually around $30.

You just have to install it.  It will sign you up for auto renewals, but I always cancel that and contact them, when it's ready to be renewed, because they will match a price you find elsewhere.

You get an email ahead of time telling you when renewal is due.

Believe me, I was very glad I had it yesterday, when I realized what I'd done.

ETA:  Just a thought - if you want to buy direct from Norton (they download it to your machine), you can always do a chat with them, tell them the price you've found elsewhere.  Can't hurt.

Respected Contributor

I did not know this. I will check it out, I wonder if Costco has it. Can you purchase online or do you have to go to the actual store?
Honored Contributor

[ Edited ]

@SandGirl - I just looked at various sites for Norton 360 and it looks like it's all digital delivery now, so it should be easy to install.

You do have to pay a yearly fee to renew, but for us, it's worth it.  Just don't pay Norton's inflated prices!