Trusted Contributor

What is the Average Mark-up on Products?

I used to work in a store where the jewelry was marked up 500%. I also remember reading in a skincare book that a skin cream that sells for $21 may be worth as little as $3. Of course people need to get paid as do taxes explaining why things get marked up. What have you all heard? Thank you.
A friend in need is a friend indeed.
Honored Contributor

Re: What is the Average Mark-up on Products?

(Thread Title)

There is no such thing as average markup. Now if one wanted to consider 1% up to over 200%?  Many electronics are even higher than 200%. If someone tells me average markup? I tell them "who you trying to ®®®®"?

hnj

hckynut(john)
Honored Contributor

I plan on purchasing an auto by the end of the year.  In doing my research I found the following regarding auto mark ups....

"The average car dealer markup fee is typically between 2-5%. This number represents the amount of money the dealer automatically raises the price to ensure a profit. Note that this is not the final sale price, which is often higher. For example: a car comes in at dealer invoice (what the dealer pays for it) of $20,000. The dealer marks it up 2-5% (this is their listed invoice price) and then assigns an MSRP price on it that is even higher. Should you negotiate the dealer down to invoice, they still make a 2-5% profit on the vehicle."

ARTICLE LINK

"Never argue with a fool. Onlookers may not be able to tell the difference."

220-AuCC-US-CRM-Header-Update.gif

Esteemed Contributor

I think the right answer is that "it depends" on the type of product, brand, etc. Capitalism is great; the laws of supply and demand work. I would never frown on a seller making as high of a profit margin as the market will bear. As consumers/buyers, we can buy or not buy.

Honored Contributor

[ Edited ]