Honored Contributor

The insurer is correct, the radiology provider should have told you before the procedure that they were out of network and they should have told you what your out of pocket expenses would be.  I don't think the insurer will fight for you at all, I do this for a living and there is no reason or mechanism for the insurer to do that.  They didn't do anything wrong.   Now...you can and should do it.  You need to call the radiology provider and speak with the billing manager or the authorization manager and complain.  Tell them that you should NOT be responsible for their failure and insist that they write off the difference.  I work for a hospital and this type of situation is not rare but when we make a mistake. we own up to it and do what we can for the atient.

Honored Contributor

@151949 wrote:

@Moonchilde wrote:

@151949 wrote:

if you have a PPO you can go out of network and they pay it but I have an HMO and they do not pay anything for out of network.NOTHING.

And therein lies your problem. The office may be in network for PPO or individual policies but not for HMOs. So they could and would say that you were in network if you didn't remind them you were an HMO patient. And yes, unfortunately not every front office person has all the info and experience they should. I would in future ask to verify with/speak to the insurance person specifically in any future office. But even before that, I would ask at your HMO GP provider's office if they're sure that whatever office they're referring you to is in the HMO network. More leg to stand on, IMO.

Every office I have been in has a sign somewhere in the front (and often multiple signs to include the exam rooms) that it's the patient's responsibility to verify coverage and that the patient is responsible for any charges their insurance doesn't pay - but I understand your unhappy surprise, as it's not always easy to remember everything to do with insurance all the time.